Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi review (Touching Juliette #3)

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor fracture me tahereh mafi

Synopsis: 

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

My thoughts: 

5/5 stars.

This book is the one that started it all. I still remember it like yesterday, the day I got introduced to the Touching Juliette series by Tahereh Mafi. I was wandering through the library on a dreary winter morning, it was most likely definitely a Saturday, and my eye fell on the Dutch translation of Ignite Me (Vertrouw Me). I was immediately lured in by this cover. The colours were so vibrant, the story sounded so good and it was this new series that I had never heard anyone talk about before. I read the first three sentences and I was sold. Then I found the first book in this series and I remember being overjoyed about it. The synopsis just sounded so good, the writing style wasn’t like any I had ever encountered before and because it was kind of stuffed away behind a bunch of other books, I had the feeling that I was in on something a lot of other people/readers weren’t.

I read the first book and then the third book wasn’t immediately available because the library was closed and someone else had borrowed it, which didn’t really register in my mind at the time. I still felt like I was in on some secret amazing book series that no-one else knew about. I remember looking it up online and they had this preview of the first fifteen chapters. I think I read it both in Dutch and in English before I could finally take Vertrouw Me home with me.

I read the first book and then the third. It was love at first sentence. This book feels like a warm bath. I borrowed it from the library so many times that my father started recognizing it and sighing to himself. Then he would ask me; again? Why don’t you read something else? I never wanted to.

I was devastated when I found out that this book was the final one in the then trilogy. It was also the first book in which I ever read anything even remotely close to smut. I remember being sweeped off my feet by the descriptions of surroundings and nightmares and the description of love and how it felt to love someone. This book made me fall in love with the world a bit more.

I have read this book seven times now. I can quote parts of it from memory. I’ve only read it twice in English and if I’m being honest, the Dutch translation will always hold a special place in my heart. The Dutch translations of these are so good. So close to the original text and honestly if my library ever decides to dump this book along with the second one, I will buy them. I need to physically own that library book, it made me fall in love with reading all over again. It made me realize that the world isn’t necessarily all that bleek and to be honest, this book made me love language so incredibly much. This book spurred me on to start reading poetry and start writing again. The first book I ever wrote was 54 pages and kind off based on this series, but it took place in space. This book is probably the reason why I am taking Literature and Society next year.

Well I keep saying book, but it’s mainly Tahereh’s incredibly unique writing style that made me do all those things.

The worldbuilding is amazing, the character development is out of line. It’s so good and it’s so right. Everything about this book is amazing.

I could wax lyrical about this book for hours on end if you don’t stop me. There are times when I’m on the go and I feel terrible, and I’ll look up the first preview of this book, the first fifteen chapters, read those and my mood will turn around immediately.

Warner and Juliette’s whirlwind love is one destined for myths and legends. I seriously love both of these characters so much. And let’s not forget about Kenji. I need a Kenji in my life. I want to be Kenji when I grow up. Seriously he is so awesome and just one of the most amazing and most memorable side characters ever created. Warner will forever be my favourite bookboyfriend. I’m not kidding, as much as I love Jace and Rhysand, Warner will always be number one. Always.

These characters are so immensely close to my heart and there are several quotes in just this book alone that have helped me through so many dark days and were there for me when I succombed to anxiety and depression caused as a side effect by my medication and this book is a part of me. That’s what it comes down to. It’s a part of me and I love it so much.

I recommend this to people who loved every other book by Tahereh Mafi.

 

Leave a comment