Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi review (Touching Juliette #2)

Gerelateerde afbeelding

Synopsis: 

It should have taken Juliette a single touch to kill Warner. But his mysterious immunity to her deadly power has left her shaken, wondering why her ultimate defense mechanism failed against the person she most needs protection from.

She and Adam were able to escape Warner’s clutches and join up with a group of rebels, many of whom have powers of their own. Juliette will finally be able to actively fight against The Reestablishment and try to fix her broken world. And perhaps these new allies can help her shed light on the secret behind Adam’s—and Warner’s—immunity to her killer skin.

My thoughts: 

5/5 stars.

There’s actually a rather, well in my opinion, funny story behind the first time I read Unravel Me.

Get this: I read Shatter Me, Ignite Me and then Unravel Me. I made a mistake at my library with the Dutch versions and book two wasn’t there at the time, and I had no idea it was book two or what it was called, and I discovered after reading Ignite Me that this book was actually the sequel. The first time reading this was not a lot of fun.

Since I already knew how everything was going to play out, I did not enjoy it. I skimmed over parts and eventually because of the final 150 pages ended up giving it four out of five stars. I never touched it again until yesterday. It was also the first time reading Unravel Me in its native language and it was just such a treat.

The writing style in these books is just really great and I am not kidding when I say that I would read Tahereh’s groccery lists and I’d still be blown away. I am so biased when it comes to her books.

Re-reading this book was an entirely new experience. Getting reminded of things I never knew before, or had already completely forgotten was like stepping under a hot shower after getting soaked by the cold and unforgiving rain. This re-read warmed me to my very core. It was a lovely experience and I am looking very much forward to my re-read of it next year in preparation of Imagine Me. EEPPPP I AM SO EXCITED.

The character development of Juliette in this book is outstanding. She changes so much and it was time. Damn it, it was time. I cannot wrap my head around the fact that the first draft of this book was written in 2 weeks. In just two weeks. Fourteen days. HOW?!

Recoomended for fans of the first book.

 

Leave a comment