Shadow Me by Tahereh Mafi (Touching Juliette #4.5)

Gerelateerde afbeelding

Synopsis:

Juliette is still reeling from Warner’s betrayal, and Kenji is trying to balance his friendship with her with his responsibilities as a leader of the resistance against the Reestablishment. Things get even more interesting when an unexpected person from Omega Point’s past surfaces.

My thoughts: 

This. This was insane. This short little novella managed to mend my heart after my earlier re-read of Restore Me that day. If only this had been around in March 2018, I would have never cried so incredibly much. Did I cry when reading Shadow Me?

I sobbed my eyes out. Not a proud moment, I’m afraid. The first fifteen pages hit me so hard man, seriously, I would have preferred a punch in the gut to that emotional drainage. I read this way too quickly but it was so nice. I feel like I’ve been reading through Kenji’s eyes for years now, but I had no idea how much more there was to Kenji. We already knew him pretty well, what with his back story in Restore Me and all that, but there’s this whole level of depth to Kenji that we never knew about and I am totally blaming Juliette  Ella for all the emotional stuff he has been talking and thinking about.

 

Leave a comment